Sonia, Rahul flag off 3 day 'Bus Yatra' as part of Cong campaign for UP assy polls

New Delhi:  Congress president Sonia Gandhi and party vice president Rahul Gandhi today flagged off a ‘Bus Yatra’ from Delhi to Kanpur, as part of the campaign by the Congress for the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections. Titled '27 saal UP Behaal’, the three day 'Bus yatra' that will cover around 600 kms, was flagged off from the AICC headquarters and aims to highlight failures of the BJP, BSP and SP Governments in Uttar Pradesh. ''Join team Congress as we kick off a three day bus yatra to highlight failures of successive Governments in UP #27SaalUPBehal,'' Mr Gandhi said in a tweet. The yatra will see the participation by senior leaders like AICC incharge for UP Ghulam Nabi Azad, UP PCC chief Raj Babbar, the party’s chief ministerial candidate for UP Sheila Dikshit, Rajya Sabha MPs Sanjay Singh, Pramod Tewari, P L Punia and Pradeep Mathur. Also taking part in the yatra will be party’s senior vice presidents in the UP PCC R P N Ingh, Raja Ram Pal, Rajesh Misra, Bhagwat Prasad Chaudhry and Imran Masood as well as the members of the UP campaign committee Zafar Ali Naqvi, Jitin Prasada, Abdul mannan Ansari, Gayyadin Anuragi and Chaudhry Birender Singh.

It will also see the participation from members of the coordination committee for the UP Assembly polls Mohsina Kidwai, Sriprakash Jaiswal, Rajiv Shukla, Rita Bahuguna Joshi, Salim Sherwani, Pradeep Jain Aditya, Nirmal Khatri, Meem Afzal and Imran Kidwai. The top leaders of the party will address the yatra enroute. This will be followed by a meeting of the UP Congress in Lucknow on July 29 that will be attended by Mr Gandhi, senior party leader and head of the UPCC Campaign Committee Sanjay Singh said. The Party leader said the yatra will propagate the message to the people of Uttar Pradesh on the failures and mis-governance by successive governments of SP, BSP and BJP in Uttar Pradesh for the last 27 years. The yatra also seeks to unite various factions in the party and present a united face of the UP Congress. The yatra will cover four districts on each day and will take the route from Delhi to Ghaziabad and will cover Hapur, Amroha and Moradabad, where it will halt on the first day. It will then travel to Shahjahanpur, covering Rampur and Bareilly and on the third day it will cover Hardoi, Kannauj and then end at Kanpur.

Tags:    UP assy polls 
Share it