Mehbooba to be the 13th CM of J&K

President of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Mehbooba Mufti is all set to be sworn-in as first woman, but 13 Chief minister of the Jammu and Kashmir, where Governors rule had been imposed for five times since people of the state were allowed to elect their representatives after joining Indian union in 1947. She was elected as leader of the PDP legislative party and Chief Ministerial candidate at a party meeting here last evening. There was a Prime Minister from October 15,1947 to March 30,1965 in the state which was later changed as Chief Minister by the state legislature. However, Jammu and Kashmir High Court has said that state legislature has no authority to change the name of Sadar-e-Riyasat (president to Governor) and Wazir-e-Azam( Prime Minister) Dr Farooq Abdullah, president of the National Conference (NC) was Chief minister of the state highest three times followed by his father Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah and Mufti Mohammad Sayeed twice each, Ghulam Mohammad Sadiq, Syed Mir Qasim, Ghulam Mohammad Shah and Ghulam Nabi Azad once each between March 30,1965 to January 7, 2016. Immediately after joining Indian union, Mehr Chand Mahajan of Congress became the first Prime Minister (PM) of the Jammu and Kashmir on October 15,1947 to March 5,1948. However, Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah of National Conference (NC) took over as PM on March 5, 1948 before he was removed and sent to jail on August 9,1953. Later, Bakshi Ghulam Mohammad became PM on the day Sheikh was removed and imprisoned on August 9,1953. Bakshi, who ruled for more than 10 years after he deserted Sheikh along with other MLAs, also called his party as NC. He was later removed following theft of Holy Relic of Prophet Muhammad from Hazratbal shrine which led to massive protests across the Kashmir valley for months. Later Khawaja Shamasuddin became PM of the state on October 12,1963 to February 29,1964 after the majority NC members led by Ghulam Mohammad Sadiq joined Congress. Sadiq became Congress PM on February 29,1964 to March 30, 1965 before the state legislature changed the name of Sadar-e-Riyasat to Governor and Wazir-e-Azam to Chief Minister. Sadiq later become first Chief Minister of the state on March 30, 1965 to December 12, 1971. Senior Congress leader Syed Mir Qasim took over as CM on December 12,1971 following the death of Sadiq. Qasim remained CM till February 25, 1975 before he stepped down and paved way for Sheikh Abdullah to become the Chief Minister of the state with the support of Congress following Indira-Sheikh accord. Sheikh was heading plebiscite front before agreeing to join the mainstream again.

Share it