CPI (ML) releases list of 53 candidates

All six constituents of the Left Front, including CPI, CPI (M) and CPI (ML), have reached a consensus on seat sharing on majority of 243 seats which are at stake for the Bihar Assembly election.

Communist Party of India (Marxist Leninist) General Secretary Deepankar Bhattacharya told newspersons today that Left parties had reached a consensus on almost all seats, but friendly contest on a few seats could not be ruled out. He said joint campaign by Left leaders would also be organised in some constituencies.

Releasing the list of 53 party candidates for the first three phases of the Assembly election, Mr Bhattacharya said of them 31 are youths belonging to various professions. He said the CPI (ML) had fielded Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates, even on general seats while 13 out of 53 seats were reserved for SCs.

The CPI (ML) leader said besides 53 candidates, the party would declare names of candidates for Biharsharif, Banka and Amarpur shortly. The party would release the names of candidates for the remaining two phases in consultation with all other five Left parties. Former MLAs Rajaram Singh, Arun Singh and Chandradeep Singh would contest from Obra, Krakat and Jagdishpur respectively. The LF comprises CPI, CPI (M), CPI (ML), SUCI, RSP and Forward Bloc.

Share it