Mayawati's popularity will be on test in second phase in UP

Mayawatis popularity will be on test in second phase in UP

Lucknow: The second phase of election in Uttar Pradesh which will be held on Thursday will test the strength of the SP-BSP-RLD alliance.In particular,it will test the popularity of BSP leader Mayawati as half of the constituencies where votes will be cast on that day are reserved seats.

The reserved constituencies in the second phase include Agra which has been the centre of Dalit movement .The other seats in this category are Nagina,Hathras and Bulandshahr.

In the reserved constituency the winner is decided generally by non-Dalits.The role of Yadavs and other backward and upper castes will be crucial. Dalit votes are transferable but the Yadav votes not in all the places. If their votes are not transferred and some other backward and upper castes vote for the BJP again,the BSP will be in for trouble .

The task is not easy for the BSP because BJP had won Agra seat in last two polls and has done everything possible to perform a hat-trick.

The BSP had done well in Agra in 2012 Assembly elections,winning six of nine seats in the district.But in the previous poll it had drawn a blank.

Jats and Gujjars which are two influential castes in the area will also play major roles.The Jat-led RLD has allied with the BSP and the SP but the party has lost its past glory.In the previous general election the Jats had voted for the BJP which had led to defeat of the party leader Ajit Singh.Re-support to the BJP will make BSP position more vulnerable.

Fatehpur Sikri which will also go to the poll on Thursday along with seven others is not a reserved constituency.But it is important because state Congress chief Raj Babbar is seeking election from the seat.He has shifted to this general constituency from Ghaziabad where he was badly defeated in the previous general election.

This constituency was created in 2008 after delimitation and the first parliamentary poll was held there in 2009.It was the BSP which was the winner.The seat was wrested from the BSP by the BJP in next election.The latter will try hard to retain the seat while the former will try to take it back from the party.

The fight is triangular this time because of entry of state Congress chief.He has tried hard and so has other party leaders.

The division of Muslim and backward votes because of the three-party alliance may make his victory difficult.The BJP had done extremely well in this area and other parts of the state in 2014.It had won 71 out of 80 seats.It is trying for an action replay which will not be an easy job.

Mathura is another key constituency where polling will he held along with Fatehpur Sikri.Noted film actress Hema Malini is seeking re-election from this seat.

The other general constituencies which will go to the poll after a day in the state are :Aligarh, Mathura and Amroha.The 7-phase election in the state will end on May 19.

Share it