BSP announces 2 candidates for RS, 3 for council seats in UP

 Lucknow: Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has announced candidates for the biennial polls for Rajya Sabha and Uttar Pradesh legislative council elections slated next month. BSP general secretary Satish Chandra Mishra and Ashok Sidharth have been nominated by the BSP for the RS polls while Atar Singh Rao, Dinesh Chandra and Suresh Kashyap would be the candidates for the legislative council elections. The announcement was made by BSP president Mayawati at New Delhi in the meeting of the senior party leaders from UP today. While Satish Chandra Mishra has been renominated for the third time for the RS by the party, Ashok Sidharth,a native of Farrukhabad , was the Kanpur Zonal Coordinator of Bahujan Samaj Party and former MLC. This would be his first entry in RS. However, the party did not repeat any of the four outgoing RS members, whose tenure expires on July 4 next. For the legislative council seats, the BSP candidate Atar Singh Rao and Dinesh Chandra are dalits from Meerut and Sultanpur district respectively while Suresh Kashyap is OBC from Ghaziabad. However, the party did not repeat any of the six outgoing members of the party,who tenure expires on July 6.

Tags:    BSP UP 
Share it