Amar, Beni file nominations for RS on SP ticket; 8 submit papers for Council

 Lucknow : Former Samajwadi Party leader Amar Singh, ex-Union Minister Beni Prasad Verma and two-time MP from Allahabad Rewati Raman Singh were among seven candidates from Samajwadi Party who filed their nominations for the Rajya Sabha from Uttar Pradesh today. Real estate promoter Sanjay Seth was also among the candidates who filed nominations. In a surprise late night move, the SP changed one RS candidate, denying ticket to sitting member Arvind Kumar Singh. In his place, Surendra Nagar filed nominations for the Upper house of Parliament. Interestingly, Amar Singh who filed his nomination as a Samajwadi Party candidate, was yet to rejoin the party formally after being expelled in February, 2010. Eight candidates of the SP also filed their nominations for the Legislative Council for vacant 13 seats More

Share it