Akhilesh to dedicate Oil portrait gallery of ex CM's in UP Assembly


Lucknow : Oil portrait Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav will dedicate oil portrait gallery of all former chief ministers in the state assembly permises here on August 22, the opening day of the Monsoon Session of the state legislature. Such gallery would be first in any state of the country except in Rashtrapathi Bhawan and PM's residence. UP CM has invited all the former CMs, including BSP president Mayawati and Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh besides, Rajasthan governor Kalyan Singh. UP Governor Ram Naik has also been invited for the unveiling ceremony of the gallery. Ex- CMs like Mulayam Singh Yadav, Narain Dutt Tiwari, Rajnath Singh and Kalyan Singh were slated to attend the ceremony.

"Ms Mayawati has also been invited and if she attends the ceremony, then it would offer a rare spectacle of Akhilesh unveiling her portrait," an official said. Recently both the BSP president and the CM had related themselves as ' Bua and Bhatija' giving a new terminology in the UP politics. Another official said that the concept of the portrait gallery is mooted by Mr Akhilesh Yadav to honour his predecessors. Initially, the plan was to have portraits of chief ministers post-Independence, but the CM wanted to pay tributes to Sir Nawab Mohammed Ahmed Saeed Khan, who was the CM from April 3, 1937 to July 16 1937 when the head of the state was called premier. Not only the CMs, but the gallery will also have oil portraits of all the past 18 Speakers of UP Assembly who have been part of the journey and the evolution of the House. For drawing life-size oil portraits, the assembly secretriat had engaged world-class painters Krishan Kanhai and Govinda Kanhai, whose oil works are seen on the walls of Parliament where they have made portraits of the first Prime Minister Jawahar Lal Nehru, former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee and the former deputy Prime Minister Lal Krishna Advani . On this occasion, UP Assembly would also release a coffee table book on the life and times of all the former chief ministers and Speakers. If any of the former CMs, who are alive and for any reason not able to attend the programme, their portraits would be unveiled only, when they come to the Assembly.

Mr Dubey also informed that the CM would inaugurate the digital version of the proceedings of the past 25 years. In the next phase, proceedings since the first Assembly to 1989 would be digitalised and uploaded. The 22 UP CMs, whose protraits would be put on in the gallary are, Sir Nawab Mohammed Ahmed Saeed Khan, Govind Bhallabh Pant, Dr Sampoornanad, Chandra Bhanu Gupta, Sucheta Kriplani, Chaudhary Charan Singh, Tribhuwan Narain Singh, Kamla Pati Tripathi, Hemvati Nandan Bahuguna, Narain Dutt Tewari, Ram Naresh Yadav, Banarasi Das, Vishwanath Pratap Singh, Shri Pati Mishra, Vir Bahadur Singh, Mulayam Singh Yadav, Kalyan Singh, Mayawati, Ram Prakash Gupta, Rajnath Singh and Akhilesh Yadav.

Share it