351 block pramukhs elected unopposed in UP after withdrawal

Lucknow, Feb 6 - Altogether, 351 candidates were elected unopposed as Block Pramukh in Uttar Pradesh, after withdrawal of the nominations today.

Amroha district has the distinction of getting all the six block pramukh elected unopposed. However, now around 1000 candidates are in the fray for tomorrow's elections amid tight security arrangements.

State Joint Election Commissioner Ved Prakash Verma told reporters here that 351 block pramukhs have been elected unopposed, while around 1000 candidates are in the fray for remaining 468 block pramukhs. He said elaborate security are in place for tomorrow's polling, which will start at 11:00 am.

The polling would end at 3:00 pm and thereafter, counting of votes would be taken up. He said all the six block pramukhs in Amroha district have been elected unopposed.

Meanwhile, the ruling Samajwadi Party has claimed that in 345 blocks, party candidates have been elected unopposed.

Yesterday ,Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, who is also the state SP president, had issued a warning to the rebel candidates to withdraw nominations in block pramukh’s elections. SP Spokesman Rajendra Chaudhury already claimed victory in block pramukh polls as he said that 345 out of 775 candidates it had fielded, had been elected unopposed.

Polling for the block pramukh would be held in 74 districts of the state, except in Allahabad and Chitrakoot districts, where polling would be held on February 10 because of the ongoing religious festivals there. There are 77576 block panchayat members, who are eligible for voting in the polls.

The highest number of block pramukhs would be 22 in Azamgarh district, followed by 21 in Jaunpur and 20 in Allahabad, while the lowest would be four each in Ghaziabad and Mahoba districts. Azamgarh has the maximum number of 2141 voters, followed by Jaunpur 2075, Gorakhpur 1815, Hardoi 1806 and Bahraich 1604 voters.

Reports of clashes, firing and abduction of voters were reported from different places, but police officials denied any such incidents.

Firing on a block pramukh candidate was reported in Kashiram Nagar district, while abduction of BDC members were reported from Sant Kabirnagar, Sultanpur, Faizabad and other districts.

Meanwhile, opposition parties have charged the ruling Samajwadi Party of misusing official machinery to influence the elections. There were also reports of candidates distributing money among voters and in some places, people were forcefully not allowed to file papers.

BJP state president Laxmikant Bajpai has alleged rampant misuse of official machinery and police to prevent opposition candidates to file nominations. Similar allegations were also made by BSP, Congress and RLD leaders. However, the SP Spokesman has called these allegations as false. In Panchayat elections, the party had won 60 out of 75 seats and this trend will be replicated in the block pramukh polls, he claimed.

Share it